Rose Tree Media School Board presents awards for academics, athletics and the arts

Penncrest High School all-state musicians (second from left-right) Chris Urffer (euphonium – all-state concert band), Sam Messer (clarinet – all-state orchestra) and Stephen Yee (tenor saxophone – all-state wind ensemble) were recognized by the Rose Tree Media School Board to open its May 28 meeting. They were joined by high school band director Craig Snyder (left). Scott Dabundo (trombone – all-state concert band) was unable to attend the meeting. Photo by Leslie Krowchenko

The stage was filled with accomplished students, May 28, as the Rose Tree Media School Board opened its meeting with awards for academics, athletics and the arts.

The board presented certificates to the members of the Penncrest High School Hi-Q Team, winners of the 2015 Delco and national contests. The team topped Garnet Valley and Haverford high schools in the local championship match, then defeated schools in Alabama, Washington and Wisconsin to capture the national crown. The team is composed of Julianna Bakker, Andrew Bernstein, Samantha Daugherty, Charles Frindt, Raman Ishwar, Kelly Long, Michael Murphy, William Schafer, Hudson Ortyn, Abigail Pearse and Ryan Shah, with faculty advisor Heather Ludwig.

The Central League champion Penncrest boys’ track team was undefeated this season. Members are Nicholas Anastasi, Joseph Angelina, William Angelina, Matthew Arndt, Michael Arndt, Troy Bailey, Julian Bonsall-Shepard, Skye Bonsall-Shepard, Alexandre Boudazin, Cody Bregande, Neil Carney, Gunnar Centrone, Stephen Clair, David Clark, James Dunn, William Dunn, Dion Durnell, Sean Elser, Evan Emanuel, Khem Fariss, Daniel Fisher, Trevor Gasiorowski, Isaac Gloistein, Brendan Hanna, Nathaniel Hipple, Wesley Hipple, Sean Hoffman, Kevin Hong, Jacob Horneman, Samir Jambhekar, William Jarrell, Soham Kamat, John Kirchgasser, Jackson Kirchhoff, Andrew Kleiman, Kevin Korthaus, Avery Lederer, Garrett Louth, Ryan McAvoy, Robert McCafferty, John McGlinn, Matthew Morgan, Ryan Morgan, Jacob Morra, Nicholas Moscatelli, Jack Narbus, Taylor Orcutt, William Shafer Hudson Ortyn, Michael Pastor, Rutu Patil, Samuel Pisano, Daniel Quagliariello, Nicholas Reyes, Thomas Rounds, Evan Sing, Will Son, Samuel Stern, James Teal, Marcus Troy, Colin Tyson, Alexander Urban, Ian Wade and Evan Wildermuth.

The Penncrest boys’ lacrosse team also captured the Central League championship. The team is composed of Robert Bond, Alexander Bonnett, Dylan Boyer, Daniel Bullitt, Kevin Delaney, Matthew Dougherty, Patrick Gorman, Ryan Granger, Zachary Granger, Zachary Groses, Drew Hanna, Charles Hershock, Spencer Hespenheide, Zachary Kaut, Ryan Kinnard, Patrick McLaughlin, Greyson Nelson, Steven Nolan, Kasta Pahides, Timothy Parsons, Joseph Quintiliano, Nathan Reagle, Ryan Schultz, Devan Sloane, Colin Speer, David Stevens, William Van Leer, Nicholas Whalen and Matthew Young. The head coach is Wayne Matsinger, with assistant coaches Chris Derrick, Evan Pettit, Eric Poole and Scott Rumford, goalie coach Tom Davis, head JV coach Jeff Pettit, JVB coach Mike Baldassarre and assistant JV coach Mike.

The track team’s accomplishments could be duplicated next year, as the Springton Lake Middle School boys’ track team had an undefeated season. The squad in composed of Jason Abahazy, Joseph Adcock, Ian Bassett, Vincent Brown, Zachary Carroll, Allen Chen, Jalen Chin, Aydan Clarke, Samuel Elfenbein, Connor Elliot, Adam Gramo-Penston, Matthew Johnston, Patrick Kelly, Jacob Lamb, Edward Lawler, Casey Loper, Brandon Luong, Luke Maloy, Terrance Mason, Jacob Miller, Luke Narbus, Joshua Nepo, Ryan O’Donnell, Jack O’Neill, Joshua Reyes, Ethan Rigby, Marcello Shayeghi, Keith Stubblebine, Colin Tait, Patrick Theveny, Nicholas Thompson, Christian Williams and Andrew Woolery. The coaches are Mark Nixon and Jeremy Smith.

The Springton Lake Middle School girls’ track team was also undefeated this season. Sarah Hughes, Logan Morris, Katherine Sparling and Carly Dunford qualified for and ran in the Penn Relays and set a new record in the 4 x 100 meter relay, while Hughes, Sparling, Morgan King and Dunford set a new school record in the 4 x 200 meter relay. Additional team members include Quiana Artis, Brooke Buchakjian, Stephanie Callahan, Leann Carroll, Lauren Cawley, Hanna Christiansen, Jacqui Clair, Josie Cressler, Elizabeth Egan, Emily Emanuel, Kirsa Emmons, Cassidy Farrell, Morgan Ferry, Carly Ford, Paloma Freundt, Victoria Gargiule, Emily Hanneman, Cassidy Hoffman, Margaret Howe-Consiglio, Ananya Jain, Allison Kirchoff, Heidi Krull, Katherine Lee, Madison Lego, Devon Lego, Celia Lourie, Sydney McCarthy, Isabel Moscatelli, Julia Mullaney, Eve O’Boyle, Charlotte Pearse, Renee Phommachanh, Mia Quagliariello, Erin Ryan, Katherine Sparling, Bridget Spence, Anna Taussig-Lux, Abigail Volz, Mairi West and Carney Woodhull. The coaches are Mark Homan and Steve Adams.

The Penncrest National Art Honor Society was recognized for its participation with the Middletown Historical Society to rehab the exterior of Oak Lawn, the historic house on the Smedley Tract. The students included on the project were Emma Baldo, Emily Bond, Jennifer Bonner, Catie Clements, Annie Daniels, Dion Franklin Durnell, Alexandria Dykes, Hunter Faddis, Carolyn Hagan, Abigail Henry, Becky Lui, Maggie McCall, Jenna Muir, Amanda Noyes, Maria Partsanakis, Julia Pearse, Summer Stewart-Peterson, Samantha Taddei, Eve Taylor and Isabel Torres. The society sponsor is Concetta Mattioni; co-sponsor, Michele Kania and historical society sponsor, Susan Mescanti.

The Penncrest all-state musicians were selected through competitive auditions at the district, regional and ultimately state level through the Pennsylvania Music Educators Association. Scott Dabundo (trombone – all-state concert band), Sam Messer (clarinet – all-state orchestra), Chris Urffer (euphonium – all-state concert band) and Stephen Yee (tenor saxophone – all-state wind ensemble) participated in concerts in Hershey in March and performed solos the following month in the Penncrest band spring concert.

The directors also recognized senior school board reps Michaela Rhile and Riley George.

comments powered by Disqus